External Affairs minister S Jaishankar: “One Day, we expect we will have physical jurisdiction” over PoK

Must Read

Game Regulation In Latin America13

Game Regulation In Latin AmericaMany countries around the world have different types of regulations in place for games...

18 nurses at Pune have tested positive for COVID-19

Eighteen nurses at a private hospital in Pune have been tested positive for COVID - 19 on April 18....

Coronavirus case in the Rashtrapati Bhavan

Nearly 100 people have been quarantined at the Rashtrapati Bhavan complex. This is after a sanitation worker there tested...

Over Pakistan occupied Kashmir (PoK), we will have a physical jurisdiction; S Jaishankar said. Till now, PoK is an integral part of India, but Pakistan has illegally occupied the area.

Resolutions in support of India

  • A resolution was unanimously adopted by Parliament on February 22, 1994, declared that “the state of Jammu and Kashmir has been, is and shall be an integral part of India. Pok and Gilgit Baltistan are both part of the state of Jammu and Kashmir, which is an integral part of India by virtue of its accession to India in 1947”.

About PoK

Pakistan occupied Kashmir is an area of approx 13300 sq km. Pakistan’s Pashtun Tribesmen invaded PoK; backed by Pakistan Army. The then Maharaja of Jammu and Kashmir; Maharaja Hari Singh signed an ‘Instrument of Accession’ with India. The area of PoK was under the control of the Pakistani forces when the ceasefire line came into effect, on January 1st, 1949.

In the year of 1963, through an agreement, Pakistan ceded to China over 50000 sq km area of Jammu and Kashmir. The area which was ceded to China was in control of Pakistan; Shaksgam area in the northern Kashmir beyond the Karakoram range.

Source: Jagran Josh

PoK has a population of over 4 million according to 2017 census. It is divided into three administrative divisions and ten districts: Neelum, Hattian Bala, Muzaffarabad, Bagh, Haveli, Rawalkot, Kotli, Mirpur, and Bhimber. Capital of PoK is Muzaffarabad.

Both PoK and Gilgit Baltistan are ruled directly by Islamabad. Though this not officially listed as Pak’s territory. Pakistan has only four provinces: Punjab, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Baluchistan and Sindh. PoK and Gilgit Baltistan are “autonomous territories”. Pakistan in 2017, proposed to declare the strategic Gilgit Baltistan region as its fifth province. From this move, India has raised its concerns.

Why Pak is concern about Gilgit Baltistan?

  • strategic location
  • resource-rich region in terms of hydro electricity
  • China-Pakistan interest in CPEC (China Pakistan economic corridor) as CPEC goes through this region.

Why Pakistan cannot make Giligit Baltistan as its fifth Province?

Two UN resolutions passed in August 13, 1948 and January 5, 1949 clearly mentions that there is a link between Kashmir issue and Gilgit Baltistan. If Pakistan declares this as a fifth province, then ‘Karachi Agreement’ and UN resolutions will violate.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Game Regulation In Latin America13

Game Regulation In Latin AmericaMany countries around the world have different types of regulations in place for games...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -